How To Block Someone On Facebook

Facebook provides plenty of control over managing your profile, including blocking unwanted content and people from contacting you.

In this article, we’re going to look at exactly how to block someone on Facebook (on desktop or on mobile).

It is not uncommon to find opinions all over Facebook, it seems that is what the platform was designed for and with Facebook’s relaxed approach to censoring content, there is a chance you will run across something you don’t want to be seeing on your timeline (or in your inbox).

When this happens there are many options on Facebook to still remain connected with this person but not see any of their posts. Facebook has features that allow you to hide certain content, unfollow a person, unfriend someone or block them.

Here we’re going to focus on how to block users on Facebook, but first, what does blocking on Facebook mean?

What is blocking on Facebook?

Blocking someone on Facebook means they are no longer able to see your profile or content, tag you in a post, or message you.

Effectively you do not exist for them on Facebook.

Blocking someone on Facebook also unfriends them in the process, so if you choose to unblock this person at a later date you will have to add them as a friend again.

Blocking is the most effective way to stop unwanted content from showing up on your page.

How to block someone on Facebook on Desktop

If you have made the decision to unfriend someone on Facebook, here is how you unfriend them on a desktop computer:

  • Log on to your Facebook account and search the name of the person you wish to block.
  • Select the person’s profile.
  • At the top of the page, under the “Friends” and “Message” options, click the three dots.
  • At the bottom of that drop-down menu select “Block”.
  • A pop-up will appear, click confirm.

Alternatively, you can also block someone from the top right of your home page by clicking the downward-facing arrow.

  • Select “Settings and Privacy” and then select “Settings”.
  • On the left-hand side, select “Blocking”.
  • Type in the name of the person you wish to block.

How to block someone on Facebook on Mobile

If you have made the decision to unfriend someone on Facebook, here is how you unfriend them on a mobile device:

  • Open the Facebook app and search the name of the person you wish to block.
  • On their profile click the three dots under their name.
  • Select block.
  • A pop-up will appear to confirm.

Alternatively, you can also block someone from your home page by clicking the menu option at the bottom.

  • Scroll down to the bottom and click “Settings and Privacy”.
  • Select “Settings”.
  • Scroll down and click “Blocking”.
  • Select “Add to blocked list” and add the name of the person you wish to block.
  • A pop-up will appear, click confirm to block.

Frequently Asked Questions

How to block someone on Facebook

Can you block someone you aren’t friends with on Facebook?

Yes, you can block anyone who has a Facebook profile even if you aren’t friends with them first.

You can use both methods of blocking to block someone you don’t know on Facebook.

When you block someone on Facebook do they know?

The good news is that when you choose to block someone on Facebook they won’t be notified at all.

The only way someone would notice that you blocked them is if they went to search your name and nothing came up.

What does the other person see when you block them?

When you have blocked someone on Facebook your name won’t come up when they search you, and so they will not be able to see any of your Facebook information regardless of the privacy settings you already have in place.

If you were previously friends with them on Facebook they will not be able to find you in their friend list.

What is worse unfriending or blocking?

Both unfriending and blocking have their downsides, especially if you happen to know them in person.

There is the chance they may approach you and ask you why you unfriended them or blocked them.

Blocking may feel worse because it is a more severe action taken, normally reserved for a big offense.

Just remember to be polite and to the point when discussing why you have unfriended or blocked someone on Facebook

Final thoughts on blocking someone on Facebook

Blocking someone on Facebook is a way to stop unwanted content from showing up on your page. It also unfriends them in the process, so if you choose to unblock this person at a later date you will have to add them as a friend again.

Make sure you are certain when it comes to blocking someone to avoid any awkward situations in the future, both in person or online.

If someone is harassing you, make sure to also report them to Facebook as well. If they are harassing you, they may very well be harassing other people and the best way to get these people off of the platforms is by taking action and reporting them.

Related:

Out of the 925 - What we do
Out of the 925 - What we do