How To Stop People From Tagging You On Facebook

We all have that one person that constantly tags you in just about everything they do on Facebook.

In this article, we’re going to bring it to an end though.

Whether you have someone that constantly tags you and it’s “only” annoying, or you are being harassed or worse, this is how to stop people from tagging you on Facebook.

How to stop people from tagging you on Facebook

When it comes to preventing tags and limiting who can see posts and photos you’re tagged in, you have a number of options:

  • Enable reviewing tags.
  • Block individual users from tagging you.
  • Review who can see posts you’re tagged in on your profile.
  • Limit who can see posts you’re tagged in on other places on Facebook.

Let’s take a look at each of these options individually below.

1. Enable reviewing tags

By enabling reviewing of tags, you can first see if the post or photo that you have been tagged in is something you want to appear in your profile.

When enabled, these posts/photos won’t be visible on your timeline/profile (but they will be visible wherever the user published it).

To enable reviewing of tags, follow these steps on a desktop:

  • Open Facebook and log into your account.
  • In the top right corner, click on the down arrow to open the drop-down menu.
  • Select “Settings & privacy” and then “Settings”.
  • From the menu on the left, select “Profile and tagging”.
  • Under the “Review” section, toggle the “Review posts that you’re tagged in before the post appears on your profile” to the on position (it should be blue).

To enable reviewing of tags on a mobile device, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app and log into your account.
  • Click on the hamburger menu in the top right corner (3 stacked lines or dots).
  • Click on the gear icon in the top right corner.
  • Scroll down to the “Audience and Visibility” section and select “Profile and Tagging”.
  • Under the “Reviewing” section, select “Review posts that you’re tagged in before the post appears on your profile”.
  • Toggle the slider to the on position (it should be blue).
How To Stop People From Tagging You On Facebook

2. Block users so they can’t tag you

A more extreme way of stopping people from tagging you on Facebook is to block the individual.

They will no longer be able to search or interact with your account though when blocked, so if you want to still engage with them on Facebook in other ways, this is not the option to use.

It is however the best option if someone is harassing you or tagging you in inappropriate images (along with reporting them).

For detailed step-by-step instructions on how to block someone on Facebook, check out this guide. Here I cover various ways to go about it on both desktop and mobile devices.

3. Review who can see posts you’re tagged in

If you don’t mind being tagged in posts, but you want to have finer control over who can see the posts you’re tagged in on your profile, then this is a great option.

You can have it only that your friends can see posts you’re tagged in, friends of friends, specific friends, or you can make it that specific a friend can’t see those posts, or you can have them completely public to anyone on and off of Facebook, or limit it to only you who can see the posts you’re tagged in.

There are a lot of options.

This is how you can set who can see posts you’re tagged in on Facebook (via desktop):

  • Open Facebook and log into your account.
  • In the top right corner, click on the down arrow to open the drop-down menu.
  • Select “Settings & privacy” and then “Settings”.
  • From the menu on the left, select “Profile and tagging”.
  • Under the “tagging” section, click the button to the right of “Who can see posts that you’re tagged in on your profile?”
  • Now select the option you prefer.

To set who can see posts you’re tagging in on Facebook using a mobile device, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app and log into your account.
  • Click on the hamburger menu in the top right corner (3 stacked lines or dots).
  • Click on the gear icon in the top right corner.
  • Scroll down to the “Audience and Visibility” section and select “Profile and Tagging”.
  • Under the “tagging” section, select “Who can see posts that you’re tagged in on your profile?”.
  • Now select the option you prefer.

4. Limit who can see posts you’re tagged in on Facebook in other places

This option allows you to select which audience should be able to see posts you’re tagged in on other places on Facebook, like in the newsfeed or search results.

The previous option was only for your profile, this is basically for the rest of Facebook.

This is how to limit the audience that can see posts you’re tagged in across Facebook on a desktop:

  • Open Facebook and log into your account.
  • In the top right corner, click on the down arrow to open the drop-down menu.
  • Select “Settings & privacy” and then “Settings”.
  • From the menu on the left, select “Profile and tagging”.
  • Under the “tagging” section, click the button to the right of “When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can’t already see it?”
  • Now select the option you prefer, or set a custom option by including and excluding people and lists individually.

To limit who can see posts you’re tagged in across Facebook on a mobile device, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook app and log into your account.
  • Click on the hamburger menu in the top right corner (3 stacked lines or dots).
  • Click on the gear icon in the top right corner.
  • Scroll down to the “Audience and Visibility” section and select “Profile and Tagging”.
  • Under the “tagging” section, select “When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can’t already see it?”.
  • Now select the option you prefer (if you want to set up a custom option, you need to use a desktop device).

How to review posts you’re tagged in

To review Facebook posts and photos that you’ve been tagged in, follow these steps on a desktop:

  • Open Facebook and log into your account.
  • In the top right corner, click on the down arrow to open the drop-down menu.
  • Select “Settings & privacy” and then “Settings”.
  • From the menu on the left, select “Privacy”.
  • Under “Privacy Settings and Tools” scroll down to “Review all your posts and things you’re tagged in” and click on “Use activity log”.
  • Now you can review each post and photo you’re been tagged in.

If you’re using a mobile device, this is how to review posts that you have been tagged in on Facebook:

  • Open the Facebook app and log into your account.
  • Click on the hamburger menu in the top right corner (3 stacked lines or dots).
  • Click on the gear icon in the top right corner.
  • Scroll down to the “Your Information” section and select “Activity Log”.
  • Now scroll down to “Activity You’re Tagged In” and click on the “Manage Your Tags” button.
  • Now you can review each post and photo you’re been tagged in.

Can someone tag you on Facebook if you are not friends?

Yes, anyone can tag you on Facebook, even if you are not friends.

When someone you’re not friends with tags you, it will be held for review, you can then use your “timeline review” area to approve or remove the tag.

Final thoughts on stopping people from tagging you on Facebook

Now that you know how to stop people from tagging you on Facebook, it’s important to put into place the controls that work best for you.

If you want to be more hands-on and approve each tag, then use the tagging settings to do so.

If you would rather have less control and just let friends and family tag you without your approval, then go with the default settings.

And finally, if you want to take a more proactive approach in blocking certain users from being able to tag you at all, then use the blocking features built into Facebook.

Whichever route you choose, make sure to stay informed about the latest changes and updates to these features – as they are constantly evolving.

Related: